couple · detachment · friendship · job · love · men · mental health · passion · relationship · sex · toxic · toxicmasculinity · work

DESIRABLE???

“you seem like a high maintenance sort of person ” he said as I slowly came to; I’d been occasionally dissociating as I always do when having any sort of casual conversation. This was a situational friend’s comment that was made in the middle of a conversation that we were both struggling to maintain partly due to the fact that neither of us was really acquainted with the other.

As expected I was startled and felt the need to ask why they’d say that about me to which they gave a vague ” you just look like so”. That really didn’t satisfy my then attentive mind and I just awkwardly tried to shrug it off with a dissatisfied “okayyy“. I tried to assume that that was just one of those things people say to passively try and make small talk but the energy in me felt stirred and wrongly so and the conversation pretty much burnt out after that as I pretended to have somewhere else to be and bid the guy goodbye but all the time afterwards I was stuck with that single phrase in my mind.

“I seem high maintenance? Why? I’m literally the most chill approachable person ever. Independent yes, aloof yes, but chill nonetheless . Is it because I take good care of myself??? Is it because I make the effort to keep myself as I would like to be?? Why did he say that?Was it said with a derogatory intent or otherwise? Why did he feel entitled enough to cross such boundaries with me? Did I enable it? But then again is it such a bad thing to seem high maintenance? Is it another unsaid selfish societal vice? Is it an undesirable trait in men or women or humans as a whole? Is that how I’m perceived everywhere? Should I do something about it? “

These were just a few of the questions that I had and still have over the same which brings me to a few questions I’d like you to answer.

~What does it mean to be high maintenance?

~Is that something someone has ever said to you?

~ Do you think of it as a bad thing that someone is or seems high maintenance ?

~is it an undesirable trait?

~ is it a part of some toxic mentality that is projected onto men specifically or women too?

Leave a comment